« Waki-noh Mono | Main | Katsura Mono/Kazura Mono »

Shura Mono (修羅物)

In the official five-play style of performance of the Edo era, shin nan nyo kyō ki (deity, man, woman, madness, and demon), this is the sequence corresponding to nan that is performed second after waki-noh. A common theme is the portrayal of a warrior who after a lifetime of battle falls into the Asura realm after his death, a world of eternal struggle within Buddhist philosophy. Many sequences feature male warriors such as Tamura, Michimori, Yorimasa as their main character, but some sequences also feature Tomoe, a female warrior. Shura mono is also known as nibanme mono, or “second-group plays.”

the-noh.com web site

| Terms of Use | Contact Us |
Copyright© 2024 CaliberCast, Ltd All right reserved.