« Jigashira | Main | Shibyoshi »

Shibyōshi (四拍子)

Shibyōshi, or “four rhythms” is the collective name for the flute, Kotsuzumi, ōtsuzumi and Taiko. It refers not only to the instruments, but also the performers. While daishōmono are performed with the flute, Kotsuzumi and ōtsuzumi, they are not called sanbyōshi, or “three rhythms.” The gonin-bayashi, or “five-person music,” the name of a type of hina doll, refers to the vocal and Shibyōshi.

the-noh.com web site

| Terms of Use | Contact Us |
Copyright© 2023 CaliberCast, Ltd All right reserved.