« Hyoshiawazu | Main | Shirabyōshi »

Hyōshiawazu (拍子不合)

The vocals matching the rhythm, or hyōshi, are known as hyōshiai, and the vocals not matching the rhythm are known as hyōshiawazu. Hyōshiai vocals include shidai, sageuta, ageuta and kuse, each composed of eight beats, and they are sung with great emphasis on which letter of the vocals correspond to which beat. There are three types of nori, or tempo, in Noh, hiranori, chūnori and ōnori, with each typically including music with a beat. Hyōshiawazu vocals include kotoba, sashi, issei and waka, and while they are not bound by meter, there is an appropriate tempo and vocal style. Music can either be included or not.

the-noh.com web site

| Terms of Use | Contact Us |
Copyright© 2024 CaliberCast, Ltd All right reserved.