« Rikugi | Main | Ryochukan »

Ryochūkan (呂中干)

Noh dances are made up of eight-beat measures known as kusari, and the ji, which make up the musical numbers in plays such as Chū no mai, Kamimai, Hayamai and Jo no mai are made up of four kusari of flute music. The melody of the ji differ by kusari, and have different names, including chū, kan, kan-no-chū and ryo. This type of ji is known as ryo-chū-kan-no-ji, and a dance that repeats this pattern and takes a step in the middle is known as a ryo-chū-kan dance.

the-noh.com web site

| Terms of Use | Contact Us |
Copyright© 2024 CaliberCast, Ltd All right reserved.