« Aimai | Main | Kiri Noh »

Zatsu Noh (雑能)

In the official five-play style of performance of the Edo era, shin nan nyo kyō ki (deity, man, woman, madness, and demon), this is the sequence that is performed fourth after onna mono (kazura mono), onna being an alternative pronunciation of nyo. Also known as yonbanme mono , or, “fourth performance,” Zatsu Noh, or “random Noh” is so known as it includes performances that don’t fit into any of the “shin dan jo kyō” categories. As spirits appear for different reasons and there are many stories of crazed characters, Zatsu Noh is also known as kurui mono, or “crazy Noh.”

the-noh.com web site

| Terms of Use | Contact Us |
Copyright© 2024 CaliberCast, Ltd All right reserved.