« Shoshin | Main | Rojomono »

Rōjomono (老女物)

The five plays which feature an old woman as the shite: Sekiderakomachi, Higaki, Obasute, Oumukomachi, and Sotobakomachi. The Rōjomono are considered the most sacred and important plays, and even among them, Sekiderakomachi, Higaki, and Obasute hold particular importance, and are known collectively as the Sanrōjo. The rōjomono of kyōgen include Iorinoume and Bikusada, and these together with Makuramonokurui, which includes an old man as the shite, are collectively known as the sanrōkyoku. All of these are difficult plays to perform.

the-noh.com web site

| Terms of Use | Contact Us |
Copyright© 2023 CaliberCast, Ltd All right reserved.